Threat intelligence: Identifying threats in time by monitoring the darknet

Threat Intelligence Darknet

Keeping the dark side of the web under control


The darknet is more than just a place for dubious characters to deal weapons. Important commercial information increasingly turns up there. Find out how businesses can protect themselves from this.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




It’s 5 o’clock on Friday evening and the management meeting has finished. Before going home, one of the managers quickly e-mails the internal documents to their private address so that they can look at the innovations from the R&D department at leisure over the weekend. What they don't know is that the same evening, this confidential information will be for sale on the darknet.

All too frequently, cybercriminals gain access to sensitive data – often via compromised social media or e-mail accounts. Users often have the same password for different e-mail addresses, social networks and their business profile. This small act of carelessness poses a great security risk and can be exploited in many ways, for example for industrial espionage or selling insider information.


Heading off threats

One way to counteract this is to raise staff awareness and take precautions. Professional attacks must be proactively identified and fought off with the help of security experts. A targeted search of the net and all its hidden chambers can reveal valuable information in time to prevent the worst from happening. Many CEOs are shocked by what the experts they appoint find there: passwords, credit card details, M&A details, social media profiles and indications of planned attacks such as DDoS attacks. Targeted searches like this require the appropriate expertise and experience. Cyrill Peter, Head of Product Management Enterprise Network & Security, says: “As a major local network and infrastructure operator which uses big data and threat intelligence, we immediately recognise suspicious patterns and anomalies.” Every month, Swisscom detects and blocks millions of malware attacks and several thousand attacks on business clients and private customers.


Infiltrating the darknet

However, deliberately searching the net for sensitive data and analysing the current threat situation are only two components of a successful protection strategy. Simply knowing that product patents are for sale on the darknet does not in itself do any good. This is where security specialists come in, who act as infiltrators in the dark corners of the internet. These are highly specialised experts who know how anonymous marketplaces work, how to pay with cryptocurrency and how to get the state authorities involved. Swisscom has more than 100 security experts, which means it can offer companies a comprehensive threat intelligence service.


Threat Detection & Response


Companies which want professional oversight and control of the current threat situation can rely on Threat Detection & Response from Swisscom. From simply analysing and reporting on threats in a dashboard, to recommending actions, to deployments on site, Swisscom and its more than 100 security experts offer everything necessary to provide companies with all-round protection.


Find out more at: https://www.swisscom.ch/detection





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Threat Intelligence: Gefahren frühzeitig erkennen durch Monitoring des Darknet

Threat Intelligence

Die dunkle Seite des Netzes im Griff


Wer glaubt, das Darknet sei reiner Tummelplatz für zwielichtige Gestalten, die Waffen handeln, liegt falsch. Hier tauchen auch zunehmend geschäftsrelevante Informationen auf. Lesen Sie, wie Unternehmen sich dagegen schützen können.


Ann-Kristin Koch,




Freitagabend, 17 Uhr – die Geschäftsleitungssitzung ist beendet. Jetzt noch schnell die internen Dokumente per Mail an die private Adresse schicken, um die Innovationen aus der Forschungsabteilung am Wochenende in Ruhe durchgehen zu können. Womit der Sender nicht rechnet: die Interna werden bereits am gleichen Abend im Darknet zum Verkauf angeboten.

Cyber-Kriminelle gelangen leider nur allzu einfach an sensible Daten – häufig über kompromittierte Social Media- oder Mail-Konten. Deren Nutzer haben oft für ihre verschiedenen Mailadressen, in sozialen Netzwerken sowie für ihr Profil im Geschäft das gleiche Passwort. Eine kleine Unachtsamkeit, die ein hohes Sicherheitsrisiko birgt und vielfältig, etwa für Industriespionage oder Insiderinformationsverkauf, ausgenutzt werden kann.


Gefahr erkannt – gebannt

Abhilfe schafft: Mitarbeitende sensibilisieren und vorbeugen. Bei den Angriffen der Profis gilt es, diese proaktiv zu erkennen und mit Sicherheits-Experten entgegenzuwirken. Wer das Netz inklusive versteckter Räume gezielt durchsuchen lässt, kann angepriesene Informationen frühzeitig aufspüren und Schlimmeres verhindern. Viele CEO erschrecken, was Experten dort auf Auftrag alles finden: Passwörter, Kreditkarteninformationen, M&A-Details, Profildaten von Social Media sowie Hinweise auf geplante Angriffe wie DDoS-Attacken. Für das gezielte Suchen braucht es das entsprechende Know-how und Erfahrung. Cyrill Peter, Head of Product Management Enterprise Network & Security sagt: "Als grösster, lokaler Netz- und Infrastrukturbetreiber und mit Big Data und Threat Intelligence erkennen wir sofort verdächtige Muster und sehen Anomalien." Monatlich entdeckt und blockt Swisscom Millionen Malware-Attacken und mehrere tausend Angriffe auf Geschäfts- und Privatkunden.


V-Männer im Darknet

Das Netz auf Auftrag gezielt nach sensitiven Daten zu durchsuchen und die aktuelle Bedrohungslage zu analysieren, sind jedoch nur zwei Bausteine für einen umfassenden Schutz. Wer weiss, dass Produktpatente im Darknet angeboten werden, dem ist damit noch nicht per se geholfen. Hier helfen Security-Spezialisten, die sich wie V-Männer in den dunklen Ecken des Internets bewegen. Hochspezialisierte Experten, die wissen, wie anonyme Marktplätze funktionieren, wie mit Kryptowährung bezahlt wird und wie die staatlichen Behörden einzubeziehen sind. Swisscom verfügt über mehr als 100 Security-Experten und so können Unternehmen Threat Intelligence als umfassenden Service beziehen.


Threat Detection & Response


Wer professionell die aktuelle Bedrohungslage seines Unternehmens im Blick und im Griff haben will, setzt auf Threat Detection & Response von Swisscom. Von der reinen Analyse und Aufbereitung von Gefahren in einem Dashboard, über Handlungsempfehlungen bis hin zum Einsatz vor Ort bietet Swisscom mit ihren mehr als 100 Sicherheits-Experten alles, um Unternehmen umfassend zu schützen.

 

Mehr unter: https://www.swisscom.ch/detection





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema